1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with fan splitting

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by nosh, Dec 11, 2015.

1. nosh

nosh New Member

Hi. I am currently in the middle of a new build and I need some help/advice with splitting my fan power. I already bought an x-station extension I and modmytoys 3 pin pcbs. I planned on getting a 3 pin male to 4 pin female molex cable since the x-station is male but I am having trouble finding that particular cable. I need to power 12 fans looking for suggestions on my approach is the x-station overkill? Should I just power the pcbs directly off the PS? Create custom cables?

2. nosh

nosh New Member

I forgot to mention I am a newb don't laugh I didn't know that you cannot control fans that are connected to the power supply. Eventually I want to go with an aquaero 6 but it is not in the budget right now and I cant justify buying a fan controller I will end up replacing. I am using a rampage v extreme so the included OC panel will do for now. I will just connect the 3 splitter pcbs to the case fan headers on the board and ill use the cpu pwm header for the 655 pump.

3. daniel

daniel Administrator Staff Member

You wont be able to connect the split fans to the motherboard because it wont be capable of powering that many fans. It wont damage the board because it has protection for this but most fans just wont run or they will run at low RPM. Until you get your Aquaero 6 I suggest using Modmytoys plitters like this one: http://www.performance-pcs.com/modmytoys-4-pin-power-distribution-pcb-8-way-block.html With a couple of these you will be able to run all of your fans off the PSU. There are ways of powering PWM fans direct from the PSU and connecting them to the motherboard to control them. Ill find a product that can do this and get back to you no time right now.

4. nosh

nosh New Member